Weaning week and other things

Wow my blogging is not keeping up very good pace at the moment, another week flew by and we are a week closer to another holiday yay! We are using my maternity leave to its best advantage and ensuring we spend lots of time together on adventures.

But that’s next week so what about the now. This week we had lots of lovely new experiences visiting a different National Trust site and testing out the local splash park – in both the sun and the cloud! Big piggle obviously doesn’t feel the chill and I think enjoyed the morning running around just him and his cousin in the dull cloud as much if not more as when we popped down there in glorious sunshine! He also had a sleepover at Mor Mors house which he loved, for the last week he has asked me everyday so off he went with his trunki on Friday night and had a great time! Makes me giggle he asks to go to the ‘grand new house’ meaning brand new house. He also keeps saying ‘by my own’ meaning by myself. When he starts using the proper phrases I think I’m going to be a little bit sad.

The best thing for me about the sleepover was that little piggle slept in until 8.15 on Saturday so I felt I had a lovely lie in and then enjoyed some baby cuddles before getting up. This afternoon we are at the local outdoor pool and the bigger boys are braving the cold, little piggle had his milk and a sleep so given me time to blog. Not long though as big piggle has spotted the ice creams and suddenly swimming is not the main priority!

image

 

The thing most on my mind this week has been weaning. My big piggle absolutely loves his food. In our family we love food and going out to eat, it’s a big part of our lives and something that makes us all smile. We always said we would take the children out to eat and continue to enjoy doing so, so bar about a year when it really wasn’t worth it with an overactive toddler, we go out for lunch. It might just be to pizza express or any other Italian chain you may so wish but we all enjoy it. So little piggle needs to prove his family credentials!

 

I made everything from scratch with my first and gave him tastes of everything I could think of, making a special effort with things I dislike (lamb and cauliflower in particular!). He eats everything and only really doesn’t like broccoli (random). I haven’t started well this time round as I have picked up a pouch or two (ok ten) and used those as it has been easiest. Today however I mixed up a stash of little pots to freeze so we have a couple of weeks worth of homemade bits to get little piggle started on. Home-made meal number one, which was the dreaded broccoli, went down very well so fingers crossed. The green face did make me laugh! He has loved everything he has been given in particular banana breakfast and for dinner his favourite so far has been peas!

image

I have just puréed different veg and also made up some cheesy potato with leek and cauliflower and broccoli cheese. These were some of big piggles favourites! We have decided to go down the purée route rather than baby led as at 20lbs he is big and hungry and I personally find it easier to feed babies this way. I can then give him some finger food in a couple of months to supplement and once he is happy with more lumps. But each to their own – another mummy thing you should totally go with your instinct on.

image

On holiday I shall probably revert to a few more pouches but I’m sure he will survive. Which brings me onto another theme of the week….second child! So less fearful of absolutely everything it really is a revelation. I googled most things when big piggle was born or relied on my sister who had a baby six months before me. But this time I am loving being a bit more relaxed – yes he wears a hat in the sun and I make an effort to put him in the shade but a slightly pink cheek isn’t going to send me over the edge. I forgot his second feed today but I washed the original bottle and put it in boiling water and then used it and as a one off I think it’s acceptable. He’s not going to get severe nappy rash from one full nappy left on a little too long or indeed be scarred by wearing a sleepsuit with a bit of milk on it. All things I would have not accepted first time round. I’m loving second time mummydom and just wish someone had been able to make me feel this way first time round. But that’s the journey I suppose.

So onto the next week filled with friends birthdays, first sports days and holidays! I’m so excited and continuing my overly positive and happy theme – but don’t fear I can still be a grumpy arse, ask my husband about my face when he returned from golf today 😉

 

My Petit Canard

 

My Kid Doesn't Poop Rainbows
3 Little Buttons
Mummuddlingthrough
8 thoughts on “Weaning week and other things

  1. Kaye says:

    Good old weaning! I remember being so excited to start with my first and next time I think I’ll hold off for as long as I can haha. Mine’s been an average eater, and the opposite to yours as he only loved broccoli for a while! Thanks for linking up to #MarvMondays. Kaye xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bridiebythesea says:

    Sounds like a busy time! I was the same when we weaned our girl & did a mixture of Ella’s Kitchen and homemade stuff. I remember her loving the carrot one and also the butternut squash and prune (which was great for getting things moving haha). By the time she got to 9 months, she preferred home cooked but I think the pouches are great for getting them started 🙂 Thanks for linking up with the #dreamteam x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. beautybabyandme says:

    We are in the same boat and having just got back from holiday I can honestly say Ellas Kitchen was a saviour!!! I am back to doing home cooked stuff but the pouches can come in so handy! Sounds like a hectic but productive week xx #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

