Monday musings and no more a newborn

It’s a quiet, sunny Monday morning. Big piggle is back at nursery so it’s just me and the little piggle to finish off the washing from half term week and to get the house back into shape after the weekend! However the sun is shining and the birds chirping so it’s actually probably time better spent sitting in the garden with a cup of coffee blogging! I have also promised big piggle we can grow some vegetables so need to get onto that today at some point!

A sure sign of careering towards being a proper fully fledged grown up is when you start being proud of the plants in your garden looking pretty and ready for summer, admiring them and how homely they make things feel. Garden furniture is out, washing blowing on the line and the grass has been cut. Looks pretty perfect! Whilst my iPhone suggests summer is here for approximately one day I’m going to believe today is the start of this heatwave we are awaiting!

This weekend my thoughts turned to the fact that my gorgeous littlest one really is growing up quickly! As we packed away his baby bath and the pram top into the shed and I cleared out yet another stack of clothes I realised that my little piggle definitely isn’t my newborn anymore. Β In reality we haven’t used either the bath or the pram top for about six weeks but having it around sort of doesn’t make it official that they are now too small to be used. Chunky monkey well on the way to doubling his birth weight (got our monthly weigh in sometime this week) he is thriving. So here are the things that have truly cemented the end of newborndom for me….and the beginning of a new chapter…

All the piles of ‘stuff’ that is no longer needed/fits – baby bath, Moses basket, pram top, clothes and sleeping bags that he is already too long for. These were the things that entered our house in excitement as we waited to meet him. Three months later and they are on their way out.

He can no longer curl up and fall asleep on my chest – He is long, heavy and far too alert to want to! Those days of snuggles and sleeps are gone…but the smiles and laughs that have replaced them are magical. He’s nearly rolling, just can’t quite sort out the arm underneath him, but loves flinging his legs over, particularly when there is no nappy on!

People keep discussing weaning – He will be eating food soon, I didn’t wait until six months with my first and I won’t be with my second. My boys are made big and with a love for food! I have to say ordering big bottles when he was only weeks old and taking him off the tiny baby ones was quite momentous, now contemplating him eating I can’t quite believe it!

He’s nice and chilled in his own room – Rightly or wrongly once he slept through he went into his own room just down the hall from us. This helps us all sleep better and with no night feeds it makes sense for our family. I miss his smiles in the cot beside me but I love hearing big piggle go in when its the morning to see his brother and the lovely little chat they have. Getting everyone into our bed for the morning feed and some kids TV is brilliant (I do need to remind myself of this on some occasions particularly at around 6/6.30am with Fireman Sam blasting out). He’s super content in his room, long may this continue!

He wants to sit up….by himself – The bouncy chair, in the buggy, in your arms, in the car seat always trying to sit up and see more of the world!

Chats, lots of chats – No longer falling asleep in the blink of an eye he has a lot to say/shout at times. You can see his character developing and the newborn tendencies such as endless naps and little squawks are gone!

So as I sit with him this morning, as he bounces himself in the bouncy chair cooing away at me, whilst the newborn stage is over we are excitedly moving into the next one and I can’t wait! πŸ’™

ps this pic makes me realise how grown up and yet still how little he is in equal measure!

image

Marvellous Mondays badge by Hello Archie
3 Little Buttons
Cuddle Fairy
9 thoughts on “Monday musings and no more a newborn

  1. Mess and merlot says:

    Aww he’s gorgeous, what a lovely post. Like you say, the next stage is always exciting but sometimes you just want to keep them little forever! Fingers crossed for a slightly longer spell of sunshine, I never trust my weather app anyway πŸ™‚ x #MarvMondays

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My Petit Canard says:

    Awww your little one sounds absolutely adorable. What a magical time, lots of firsts to come even though lots of firsts have passed. The newborn stage flies by so quickly, but its replaced by lots of new magic that makes your heart melt. Enjoy it all, thet grow so quickly as you already know πŸ™‚ Emily #DreamTeam

    Liked by 1 person

  3. alisonlonghurst says:

    Beautifully written. I love the fact that you are embracing the next stage and looking forward to it. I always looked forward to the next stage with my girls. It was lovely the way you set the post in the garden, in the sunshine. I sat in my garden on that warm day and had the same feeling of contentment you described. A lovely photo too! Alison x #DreamTeam

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Annette says:

    He is so lovely! Awwwww!! I remember when Little Button was that little. Time really does speed past when you are having fun. I love how you have captured him in writing, it will be wonderful to look back on this when he’s that bit older again. Enjoy the special moments. Thank you for linking up to the #DreamTeam

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Savannah (@HowHesRaised) says:

    Oh, that photo is melting my heart! He is such a little sweetheart.
    They do grow quickly, and it’s not until you’re packing up their stuff to make room for something new, and BIGGER, that we realize take time to realize that. New chapters are always exciting though, and I can’t wait to see what these next few months bring for you and little piggle ❀ #MarvMondays

    Like

  6. Becky, Cuddle Fairy says:

    Awww it’s amazing to watch them grow up every day! The little laughs & smiles are so nice & turn them into right little babies rather than newborns. Enjoy each day as he grows. Thanks so much for joining us at #BloggerClubUK

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hannah (tuesdayschildblog) says:

    A lovely post. I’m going through the same emotions at the moment, I switch between wanting my baby to stay teeny tiny and being excited about the next steps. We’re currently working on rolling over! I’m new to blogging and look forward to reading more of your posts. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

